8 comments on “Web Fiction

  1. I suppose I would point at Alexandra Erin (Tales of MU) as a webfiction success story. MeiLin Miranda (Intimate History of the Greater Kingdom) and Irk & Char (The Peacock King) also have fairly large followings.

    But as you’ve pointed out, all of those lie more in the genre / speculative fiction category. Why speculative fiction dominates the webfiction community is probably down to there being either greater demand for it… and maybe also because readers of literary fiction prefer print? I personally don’t mind reading genre fiction online, but would hesitate to read literary in anything but print.

    Stats… don’t get too hung up on them. 😀 Easy to say, I know! When I first started writing webfiction, I checked stats obsessively. But you’re better off not beating yourself up for something you can’t control!

    • It’s encouraging to hear that people are really reading this web stuff. I’d hate to think I was just writing for a bunch of other writers who just want me to read their stuff, too. I am a little dismayed that the demand is calling primarily for speculative fiction. I read my share of fantasy, but I’m just not currently writing any. It’s interesting that literary fiction may be confined to print. I guess I’m a square peg.

      I’m 50k words into writing a new age super-hero novel that might make a good serial. Perhaps I should switch my focus.

      This stats thing is like crack. I don’t want to care about it, but I confess that I crave the validation.

  2. I don’t have a large following (somewhere around 150 people), but there are people reading my serial. For the most part, they’re not writers (though there are a few). Oddly enough, it is a superhero serial, so you might have some luck there.

    I’ve done a bit of advertising via Project Wonderful to get readers, and it’s helped to a degree. At any rate, it helps pull in readers who are outside the web fiction writer community.

    Another thought: I’ve often heard people wonder why there’s relatively little literary fiction on the web while there’s a lot of genre fiction. I can’t say I know for sure, but I’ve always suspected that reading something on the web is more likely to appeal to the science fiction/fantasy fan than the average reader/writer of literary fiction.

    • This is a very helpful comment. I’m still carefully considering whether I want to drop “The Smell Collector” project for the “Fly By Night” project. From what you guys are telling me, a hero series might be a lot more successful. I would be disappointing very few people if I dropped “The Smell Collector”, primarily me. I’m really attached to this project. I think it’s a good story and a great character. I just don’t know if it’s readership is low because it’s not interesting enough or because it’s just not getting enough exposure. The few that read it really seem to love it. But like I said, it’s very few.

      I’m not familiar with Project Wonderful. I will check it out.

      Thanks for your helpful feedback.

      • I don’t know if you could do both, but I could easily imagine people liking the superhero story, and giving the other a chance on that basis.

        Not that writing superhero fiction will automatically result in readers. I only broke 2 digit readership last year. I’ve no idea if I’ll ever move into four digits.

      • I’ve given the hero story some thought. It’s a fairly unique premise. I’d definitely have to write most of it again by scratch. But that’s part of the fun right?

      • Well, my serial’s basically a “coming of age” story. It ends when the main character passes out of young adulthood. I’m not sure when that’ll happen. I imagine 7 books, but I’ve already begun book 4, so who knows? It might be “Dresden Files” length (the author’s projecting 20 books or so).

Leave a Reply

